iMessage Loud and Clear

Image

I’ll admit it; I caved.  My eleven-year old son Bodie has been angling for an iPhone for the better part of two years.  He repeatedly recites the list of friends who, by the age of nine, had been given cell phones of their own, then caps off his performance with a soulful rendition of that tearful ballad “I’m The ONLY One Who Doesn’t Have One”.  While I don’t want to hold my son back, I never enrolled him in the Junior Executive Program, so I didn’t see the point in giving him a phone back then.

But last month he started walking to and from school on his own, exposing a little known philosophy I held deep within me:  Offspring cannot be out of eyeshot, even for the twelve-minute walk to school, without access to parental supervision.  Ok, I’ll OWN it!  I feel better knowing I can reach him, or moreover, he can reach me, if needs be.  After all, it’s not the same world we grew up in (yup, I just officially became my mother.)

So my eldest is now forever plugged in, and while his data plan is relatively limited, the volume of communication his age group can exchange in a day, from Instagram to iMessage, is nothing short of staggering.  In the time it took for him to recharge his exhausted phone that first day and eat his dinner, he had received forty-one text messages.  Granted, most of them were centered around that burning question “whacha doin’?”, but still, that’s more texts than his dad and I get in a month.  Combined.

While this seems a perilous new era in his social life, I’ve been trying to focus on the upside of it all: at least now we’ll be able to communicate anytime we want.  In fact, maybe we’ll forge an even deeper mother-son bond than the one we already have!

But alas, my hopes were short-lived as I read his text last Saturday (only the second day he’d had the phone) after he called me from a friend’s birthday party (I’m the green bubble):

Image

Didn’t see that coming so soon.

10 responses to “iMessage Loud and Clear

  1. I went through that stage just 2 years ago. My son is now 14. I have come to terms that he is busier than me and he doesn’t really need my motivational anecdotes everyday. But he tries to text me everyday at least once before I sent him my usual text ‘Is everything ok?’…haha.
    Thanks for dropping by my blog, Andie 🙂

  2. Thnx for your blog. The other day I was walking to class, and honest – a young lady walked right into me, and then looked at me like: “what are you doing there – in my way??? I have a smart phone – 4 texting – cause, even though I’m a bit older than my university peers, I like to be in some of the Student Orgs; and, if your gonna be in their world … you have to play by their rules. So, at 65, I got my first smart phone – whata reality chk!
    U B WELL!!!
    G.

  3. LOL! You’re funny. I have Ben dragging my feet to get the cell phone too. My daughter is 1 and my boys are 10. I’m just not ready yet. But when I do…. I will also text them constantly, while laughing hysterically at my own self… I love your blog!!

    • Thanks so much! Yeah, not only have I been politely asked not to text so much, but my son found this ‘hysterical’ ring tone reserved solely for my calls … it sounds a submarine mayday alarm with a voiceover that bellows “WARNING, WARNING … THIS IS A CALL FROM YOUR MOTHER!” Gee, thanks honey. 🙂

  4. Another great read. We don’t get much warning when the end of one era turns on a proverbial dime and becomes the beginning of the next one. The differences between these two are enormous for both parties. The story had me recalling that pivotal moment in my life when my parents let me have something I too had been angling for for what felt like years. A reel to reel tape deck! It was something that did bond me with my folks because they supported something that was important to me but was clearly not a necessity. It was a small step towards my understanding of who I was. I remember Dad accompanying me to Bay Bloor Radio to pay for the Teak I had scoped out for weeks. The similarities shared between the electronic devices ends at the check out counter as my dad would have paid with cash, and the function of an iPhone that could’ve landed Apollo 11 can cause untold distraction to it’s handler. Having said that, I’ve spent untold hours playing and enjoying music from that day forward. I only hope Bodie’s contentment lasts as long. There will always be a newer and greater phone. The lines from the Mock-umentary “This is Spinal Tap” come to my mind. While explaining the differences between two otherwise identical amplifiers, and why one was better, well, some of you know what comes next. “This one goes to eleven”.

Leave a Reply

